IF YOU CAN DREAM IT, you Can do It. Or Can You??

What you might have been told by “mature, realistic and well wishing” friends or family is that the above Walt Disney quote only really works in Walt Disney movies and really, how many times have you seen a Walt Disney ending in a mature, real life?

Anabel and Kingsley

TO DREAM IS NOT SO EASY…

It’s one thing to have big dreams and the other to have the money to pay your rent, food, debts, bills, isn’t it? Well, here’s my little take on this often sniggered at quote.

Can you?

I think Disney was not such a silly dreamer after all because the most important part of this quote to me, is the beginning…”If you can…”. To really, truly imagine yourself doing something that might take a lifetime to achieve or might take a change of a lifetime is the hardest part! To remain confident and ignore possibility of ultimate failure, to live on the edge of poverty, to endure people using you, putting you down, to doubt yourself countless times and still continue on your journey is the “can” part…

Can or have?

Another important element here is that anyone might “have” a dream. A passive, indulgent thought of some yearnings and desires, abstract idea that is more comforting to just have than to be worked towards…

To dream, as in a verb, you got to have a hell of a lot of imagination and way more determination to make anything happen.

Money, determination & talent

There is another famous quote by George Morris, the US Show Jumping guru: “To be someone in this sport [show-jumping] you need money, determination and talent. If you lacking in one area, you will have to make up for it in the other two”.

I think this applies to all areas, all ideas, all businesses out there. That’s how I see the ability to dream. See where you want to be and then do everything you can to get there. Determine where you need to fill the gaps for whatever your short-comings are, and then fill them with what you’ve got. If you can dream like that, then you can do it. And if you have no money and no talent, you better have enough grit to make up for that.

Filling in

The shortcomings can come in any form. Take one of mine for example. I have an incurable belief in people’s good intentions and that has caused me a lot of problems. Serious problems. It needed to get ridiculously bad until many bad decisions later, I took notice and now I am having to work on that.Β However, bad decisions are just that. I am having to use the more sensible parts of me to fill in for the weak ones.

So Can You?

The Disney quote to me is a masterpiece πŸ˜‰ If we think we can, we can. If we can dream it, we can do it.

Those who laugh at the “dreamers” and take superior stance of so-called-reality-check, perhaps find some relief in telling themselves they can’t, that it’s not possible, that’s too difficult.

If you read this and think that you can, then you can.

leap

10 thoughts on “IF YOU CAN DREAM IT, you Can do It. Or Can You??

  1. I really believe this quote is true. As long as you’re prepared to work hard and take the rough with the smooth I believe you can make your dreams come true…. atleast I hope so because I’m half way across that leap of faith!!! πŸ™‚

  2. This was a great post! I think many of us have big dreams, but grow more reluctant when well-meaning people in our lives try to give us grounded advice that is based on what has been done as opposed to what can be done. Kudos on a great post. πŸ™‚

    • Glad you enjoyed it! I agree…also, the more we try to pursue our dreams and put ourselves out there the more we hit the many walls out there. With time, I guess it’s more and more difficult to barge through them and many people let themselves to be boxed up for the ease of journey. But what dreamer would want an easy journey, eh? πŸ™‚

  3. This post really resonates with me. Many people have tried to discourage me saying everything from ‘you’ll never make any money from working with horses’ through ‘oh everyone could do it, you should do something more ambitious’ to ‘you’re going to be killed or seriously injured one day’. It took me long time not to listen. It’s hard and requires a good mental discipline. I still slip from time to time but less and less often. I am absolutely sure that doing what I’d always dreamt about doing is the best thing ever. It’s everything but easy… I wouldn’t have it any other way. There are times when I am frustrated, disappointed, sad, angry, heartbroken, broke, injured… I just clench my teeth and keep going:). There’s no other choice if you truly believe in your dream.

    • I couldn’t agree more Ewa! I too have moments when I doubt myself and question if I am good enough and wonder what the hell am I doing but it’s the only way. Never, ever give up on something you want to do, that’s my motto πŸ˜‰ Hang on there πŸ™‚

  4. Hi. Thank you for following my blog today! This was a great post and bright to mind something my mom and dad both have always said and that is simply, “If you believe it then you’ll see it”. I’ve found it to be so true in that the longer I begin to believe something (good *or* bad) the more it begins to appear in my life. Positive thoughts are the best whether we’re in the saddle or not! πŸ˜‰

    • Hello πŸ™‚ You’re very welcome! Photography is my secret other addiction in life so will look forward to follow your work. Thank you for kind words on the blog post, I totally agree re the positive thoughts πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

