Meet Izabela and I’m The Man (Freddie) – Aspire’s new Guest Blogger

From Wiola: 

I love seeing passionate amateur riders out and about pursuing their dreams, making own opportunities and dreaming away. It is my mission for this blog to bring inspiration and drive to all riders at lower levels of equestrian sports. If you know of someone who would love to share their journey with Aspire send them to me for the lines of questions 😉 

Izabela meets my strict criteria rather well  😉  I hope Aspire NewsBook readers will enjoy following her adventures with training, competing and studying at Hartpury College in Gloucestershire, UK.

As we are starting our video venture with Aspire Video Library I also asked Izabela to have a go at Vlogging for Aspire so I hope she will bring us some entertaining snippets from her horsey life 🙂

Please feel free to comment and cheer Izabela and Freddie on 🙂 

 

IZABELA MOTYL & I’M THE MAN

bw

Hi!

This is my first blog post for Aspire Equestrian Riding Academy so I will start by introducing myself…


My name is Izabela Motyl and I’m 20 years old horse rider born in Poland. I moved to the UK almost 6 years ago and I’m based in South Wales. Since September 2012 I’ve been a student of UWE Hartpury (UWE Bristol) studying Foundation Degree in Equine Performance. I not only study at Hartpury but also live, train and compete in the area. I successfully passed my first year of Uni and I’m looking forward to second year starting in just 2 months!

My horse will be described in my blog quite a lot so let me introduce him… I’m The Man (Freddie) is a 7 years old part bred Selle Francais gelding bred by Ceri Tickner at Banwen Farm.

freddieshires

Freddie

 

I bought Freddie when he was rising 4 years old and I’ve produced him myself since 2010. Our main competition aim is show jumping (jumping up to Discovery/1m at the moment) and hoping to progress as we both learn and gain more experience. We also try other disciplines such as indoor eventing and dressage but show jumping is definitely Freddie’s favourite one!

hat4

 

Przechwytywanie w trybie pełnoekranowym 30062013 195301.bmp

IMG_8089

Przechwytywanie w trybie pełnoekranowym 06072013 175036.bmp

 

Right now we are having a little break from competitions and spending summer at home, in South Wales, on the very edge of the beautiful Brecon Beacons.

However, our break doesn’t mean 2 months off! These two months are meant to prepare us for the next competition season – both physically and mentally. Freddie is enjoying lots of turnout with about 10 friendly geldings in a big field and he absolutely loves it! He could play with them all day and all night if he had a chance. He is the biggest horse in the field and his new best friends are… two Shetland ponies!

Przechwytywanie w trybie pełnoekranowym 25062013 105014.bmp

Freddie with one of his best field buddies

Apart from spending time in the field I’m working on Freddie’s fitness too. The next 2 months will consist of hacking, lunging, long reining, flatwork, jumping and cross country schooling but without competition pressure! We might, however, take part in a few local shows just for fun.

Freddie is also on a diet as haylage at Hartpury made him a bit too fat, so from now on – hay only! Things are going really well at the moment so I can’t wait for the second year at Hartpury which also means our next competition season.

In my posts I will describe my life at the college, talk about training of my horse and any other interesting equine-related things. And I will include lots of photos and videos!

If you wish to contact me please send your email to: izabela.motyl @ yahoo.co.  uk or contact me through my Facebook page: www.facebook.com/imequestrian or Twitter @izabela_motyl

See you soon,
Izabela

Leave a Reply

