I wanna be a Trainer when I grow up

Avandarre In Dressage

I have a friend who is 16 this year. We’ll call her R for this post. R and I have never really talked about what she wants to do when she grows up, but her mom let it slip that she wants to have a career in horses. Not as a vet, but as a trainer. R’s mom seemed pretty distressed by her daughters career ambitions. Not because her daughter couldn’t make it as a trainer, but because her mom thinks all horse related activities are dangerous. Which they are… so I can’t really talk her out of that fear.

I wanted to talk to R about her career choice. I mean, I remember being 16 and wanting nothing more than to spend every day, all day, riding and training horses.  As a paltry second choice, I might’ve opt to be a sulky horse jockey if I really couldn’t ride…

View original post 1,004 more words

Leave a Reply

