Guest Blogger Lo about her New Year’s Dressage Training Break in Portugal

Hello!

Trying to escape the Swedish winter with complete darkness after 3pm and lasting until 9 am, the cold as well as muddy paddocks, we went to Portugal!

 SONY DSC

We have been here, or more precisely in Hippikos near Braga, for the last week. Hippikos is the equestrian centre where I got to know Wiola two years ago.

[This is exactly so! I met Lo while working at Hippikos. She was this little skinny girl who rode one of the very sensitive but strong mares beautifully even back then 🙂  She also did a great job of the exercises I gave her on the gym ball! Below is a bonus photo of Lo, myself and one of the best dogs in the world – Pinta! just about a year ago during New Year week 2012/2013. Wiola]

738204_10151172049142681_683534769_o

For me it’s the absolute paradise with wonderful Lusitano stallions, great instructors and the very best Pinta. I come here as often as I possibly can: four times in 2012 but only twice in 2013 as I now have my own horse and don’t really have the time. My dream would be to bring Boy here and stay for a whole summer. That would be absolutely amazing.

I have been riding four horses this week: Aortico, Zebruno, Vista Alegre and Vento de Levante. They are all stallions and wonderful dressage horses. Even though it’s possible to have both dressage and jumping lessons I focus on dressage while I’m here as I feel that I learn more and the jumping horses can be a bit fresh, at least in the winter when the weather is cooler.

Dressage is also what I enjoy most and what Boy and I compete in. The horses here are also so well educated that I can practice movements that one does not usually do on ponies, at least not in Sweden: passage, piaffe, Spanish walk etc.

Talking about the weather it has been less than good this week, as it’s been raining almost constantly. Yesterday it got even worse as there was a thunderstorm during our lessons. I thought my horse would freak out with the lightning and rain that was louder than the instructor. Fortunately everything went well and I didn’t fall off.

Bye, see you soon!

Lo

IMG_7140

Pinta – a very special Jack Russell Terrier

Leave a Reply

