You are never too old…

bella

Bella and Rudy (owned by Stuart Boyle) before their lesson.

Social perception is an interesting thing. There is a time to go to school, time to buy a house, time to study, time to have children, time to get married etc etc If someone doesn’t quite fit into the structure of that timeline they might feel uncomfortable at best, maybe intimidated, underachieving, silly, irresponsible, selfish, rather mad?

One of the greatest characteristics of equestrian sports is that they challenge that social pathway and free us from many false constraints if only we let it happen. Life somehow thrives on change and improvement rather than on contentment and static…

Perhaps rather than age, social pressure, social norms or someone else’s view on our lifestyle it is our desire to improve oneself that could drive our decisions, plans and goals…

anna and stella

Aspire bootcamp session to focus on riders seat, effectiveness and technique

This short post is for all riders out there who thinkΒ or were told that they are “too old” for something – whether you heard you are too old to ride a pony in some fun games or too old to have improvement goals or competition dreams. Break the age rule πŸ™‚ Dream high πŸ™‚ Aspire…

 

8 thoughts on “You are never too old…

  1. I was just thinking about riding and aging yesterday. When I am on horseback I forget my age. I can’t see the laugh lines and wrinkles that are slowly, determinedly etching themselves onto my face. I feel like I am my same self from 20 years ago when I was in love with my new horse, showing, hanging out with my barn friends ( and single). That horse is no longer around and my barn friends are in another state, but when I’m riding, I connect to that same younger self. Probably sounds weird, but it sure makes me happy to feel 23 again! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

