#Barebruary by Malene

Malene1

I’ve been hopping on my dressage horse bareback lately for fun. Realised it increases my confidence in my sometimes very naughty and very large Warmblood horse. I feel more connected to him and I trust he won’t hurt me. So a few days ago I went one step further and took the bridle off. After hacking him around the yard like this I went in the indoor school and had a trot. I have cantered him bareback in a bridle but I didn’t quite have the courage to canter bridle less. My next challenge is to go completely bare. No headcollar even!
Riding bareback is fine and easy once you allow your lower back to fully relax and follow the horse’s movement. Riding bridle less makes you realise you don’t actually need reins to steer your horse.

Malene G.D.

 

Thank you Malene for sharing your bareback adventures!

Would you like to join in #Barebruary training theme? If you do, email your bareback pictures to aspire@outlook.com, post them to our Facebook page HERE or Tweet at @aspireacademy adding #barebruary hashtag with a few words about how bareback riding has helped you with your riding skills – I will publish your photos on the blog throughout February!

To read more about #Barebruary click HERE

*Please note: I don’t accept any pictures, no matter how beautiful, of riders without riding hat/helmet or of horses wearing “creative” bits/bridles suggesting violent training methods.

5 thoughts on “#Barebruary by Malene

Leave a Reply

