Q & A: “How do you stay motivated and inspired to ride in winter months”

winter2015

The title question is from a reader of Aspire’s newsletter and I thought I would do a quick answer on the blog since winter months have a rather overwhelming influence on many of us. There are many ways of staying inspired and motivated to keep up with training, lessons and rides  but there definitely isn’t one perfect method for all.

Here is my key to stay motivated: I choose to fight for something I really want to become. It might seem obvious but many a time we decide we want something or be someone but have no willingness to do the work. We find excuses, obstacles, reasons against. When I want to achieve something, properly WANT it, then the motivation comes by itself. When you really want to improve your skills, your understanding of something, your method of doing something, your ability to change something, then you feel inspired by your own drive…You respect that drive and the journey you already made even if it hasn’t been a long one yet.

Yes, sometimes your motivation might be low but when you want something – really want something – even the low motivation is high enough for you to keep going.

builddreamsWhen you chose well on what you are focusing on, I bet you, getting up to run into muddy field won’t be nearly as dreadful. My advice, for what it’s worth, would be to not be too worried about how to stay motivated to do something but how to chose the focus, the “why”. When your motivation petrol runs low, remind yourself your why.

If you can’t see any meaningful why, then you might need to change your focus, alter it a little, seek what really makes you happy – then get into overalls and make it happen 🙂

Please feel free to share you views in the comments – how do you stay inspired and motivated?

Wiola

www.aspireequestrianacademy.com

2 thoughts on “Q & A: “How do you stay motivated and inspired to ride in winter months”

  1. I enter a competition to motivate me – what else but running through dressage tests would persuade me to ride at 7am in -7 degrees ?! Either that or a lesson motivates me – before I’m trying to up my game to show off. Or at least not fall off! Then after I’ve got homework to focus on 🙂

    • Yes competitions and lessons are a great “why” in themselves as they define the goals and definitely keep the training exciting. I can’t wait for the eventing season to start now and see the ex-racehorses I teach to have their first play time! 🙂 Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

